Published: 2nd January 2018

EastSide Awards Finalists Revealed

And the finalists are announced for this year's Eastside Awards by Jonathan McAlpin, Chair of Eastside Awards Committee, and sponsors Geri Wright of Phoenix Natural Gas and Stephen Patton of George Best Belfast City Airport.  
Pic credit: Jim Corr

Finalists of the second annual Eastside Awards in association with George Best Belfast City Airport have been revealed, following the rigorous assessment process by a respected panel of independent judges.  The selected finalists represent all that is truly great about East Belfast.

Jonathan McAlpin, Chief Executive of East Belfast Enterprise and Chair of Eastside Awards Committee, said: “Following on the magnificent success of our inaugural Eastside Awards, we are thrilled that momentum has built for the second year and that the calibre of entry is so high from local people across the community. We’re in for an exciting awards ceremony with the diverse range of finalists the judges have chosen. It will be a great way to celebrate the start of 2018 by recognising the best of East Belfast.”

Stephen Patton, Human Resources and Corporate Responsibility Manager at George Best Belfast City Airport said: “Belfast City Airport is a proud sponsor of the Eastside Awards for the second year. The awards are a brilliant opportunity to celebrate individuals and organisations who make a significant contribution to the development of their community.

“At the airport, we are embedded in the local community through a number of initiatives including our Community Fund, adopted schools programme and High Flyers Apprenticeship Scheme. Earlier this year, our Community Fund celebrated investing over £350,000 in 120 local projects, with many activities in east Belfast.”

The Finalists in each category are:

Eastside Award for Business Start Up sponsored by East Belfast Enterprise:

Jack Straws Ltd; Sweet Robyn’s Ltd; and Titanic FX

Eastside Award for Business Contribution to the Community sponsored by Phoenix Natural Gas:

Brain Injury Matters; Little Wing and Loop Publications Ltd/Loop Magazine

Eastside Award for Business Growth in SME sector sponsored by Ulster Bank:

Energy Trading Ireland; Titanic FX and Wood Floor Warehouse

Eastside Award for Contribution from a Community Project sponsored by Belfast Harbour:

Charter NI – Diamond Project; East Belfast Community Counselling Centre and Turas

Eastside Award for Contribution to the Arts sponsored by Solv Group:

ArtisAnn; EastSide Arts and Seedhead Arts

Eastside Award for Educator of the Year sponsored by Millar McCall Wylie:

Alison Mungavin, Ashfield Girls’ High School; Tracy Rossborough, Ashfield Girls’ High School and Complete Construction Training Services Ltd

Eastside Award for Employer of the Year sponsored by Fleet Financial:

Catalyst Inc; Odyssey Bowl and Parr Group

Eastside Award for Foodie Destination sponsored by The Foundry:

The Lamppost; Northern Ireland Assembly Members’ Dining Room and The Streat

Eastside Award for Independent Retailer sponsored by Belfast City Council:

Hillmount; Spar Titanic and Wood Floor Warehouse

Eastside Award for Individual Contribution to Sport sponsored by Wolseley:

Gail Redmond, Glentoran Belfast United; Mel Boyle, Move a Muscle CIC & Parkrun and Justin McMinn, Street Soccer NI

Eastside Award for Tourism sponsored by Titanic Foundation and Titanic Quarter:

EastSide Visitor Centre; Hidden Ulster Tours and The Wee Tram

Eastside Award for Volunteer of the Year sponsored by Bravehearts NI:

Michael Close, Ledley Hall Boys and Girls Club, Cheryl Hoey, 114th Mersey Street Guides and Brian White, Brain Injury Matters and

Eastside Award for Young Person of the Year sponsored by Rodgers & Finney:

Megan Bell, Irish Football Association; Rebecca McKersie, Ashfield Girls’ High School and Zara Stirling, Ledley Hall Boys and Girls Club

The second annual Eastside Awards will be hosted by BBC presenter Tara Mills who will announce the winners at a gala celebration in Hastings Stormont Hotel on Thursday 25 January 2018.