Published: 5th April 2012

TFL one of Northern Ireland’s best companies to be celebrated in London Ceremony

Sunny Titanic

Titanic Foundation to receive Award for Outstanding Contribution.

The shortlist for the 2012 Aer Lingus Viscount Awards has been announced, and the winners will be declared at a ceremony in the Corinthia Hotel, London, on 22 May.

The Viscount Awards, in association with Ulster Business and Insider, honour the people and organisations who promote the economic links between Northern Ireland and Great Britain and who have a positive impact on our overall economy. More than 100 companies were considered by an esteemed judging panel including Declan Kearney, Aer Lingus, Tracy Meharg, Invest NI, Ann McGregor, NI Chamber of Commerce, Mervyn McCall, IoD, Symon Ross, Ulster Business, Adrienne McGill, News Letter, Gary McDonald, Irish News, Alan Taylor, Arthur Cox and Michael Taylor, Insider.

Commenting on the shortlist, Declan Kearney, Director of Communications at Aer Lingus said; “Given the sheer amount of business talent here in Northern Ireland, the competition was tough. As expected, we were hugely impressed by the volume and calibre of entrants to this year’s awards which made the panel’s job of short- listing very difficult.

“It’s been another incredibly challenging year for businesses in Northern Ireland and those companies who have been shortlisted are to be applauded. Each has responded proactively to the current environment through increased innovation, diversification and export, seeking where possible to boost business across the Irish Sea. It is a pleasure to acknowledge their efforts and reward their tenacity in such challenging times.”

The panel decided to award the Titanic Foundation for Outstanding Contribution, in recognition of the phenomenal work that has taken place to make Titanic Belfast a reality and for its potential for increasing tourism to the region.

Tracy Meharg, Invest NI’s Executive Director of Business Solutions, said: “The companies that have been shortlisted for this year’s awards come from a wide range of sectors, both manufacturing and services, but all have demonstrated that through innovation and a focus on export markets, it is possible to thrive even in difficult economic times.

“Their business success should inspire others to follow their lead and seek out new opportunities in markets outside Northern Ireland.”

The full shortlist is as follows;

  • Most Innovative Company of the Year: CDE Global, Creagh Concrete and Thompson Aero Seating.
  • Exporter of the Year: Brett Martin, Dunbia and Premier Electrics.
  • Small Company of the Year: BubbleBum, Cunningham Covers and Portview Fit-Out.
  • Medium Company of the Year: Adelaide Insurance, Fivemiletown Creamery and McCue Fit-Out.
  • Large Company of the Year: Chain Reaction Cycles, First Derivatives, Kingspan Renewables and Wright Group.
  • Entrepreneur of the Year: Brian Conlon of First Derivatives, Chris Watson of Chain Reaction Cycles and Mark McCusker of TextHelp.
  • Overall Excellence: Chain Reaction Cycles, Kingspan Renewables and Wright Group.