Who We Are

As the charity set up in 2008 to oversee the development of Titanic Belfast, Titanic Foundation is a company registered in Northern Ireland, limited by guarantee and having charitable objects.

The development of Titanic Belfast, a £76 million visitor attraction, was one of five national tourism priorities for Tourism Northern Ireland and the Department of Enterprise Trade and Investment (DETI). This was one of the first key investment decisions of the NI Executive and was supported by Belfast City Council, Belfast Harbour Commission and Titanic Quarter Limited.

With Titanic Belfast successfully completed and opened to the public on the 31st March 2012, our role includes managing the commercial operator of Titanic Belfast to ensure that visitor targets and experience continue to be met and delivered to the highest of standards. To date Titanic Belfast has welcomed six million visitors from 145 countries, and generated £319 million additional expenditure in the local economy over 7 years..

Titanic Foundation was a key partner in the restoration of the former Harland and Wolff Headquarters Building & Drawing Offices into Titanic Hotel Belfast, and in 2015 we acquired the White Star line tender ship SS Nomadic, which has been incorporated into the Titanic Belfast visitor experience.

Our most recent project was the Great Light, a historic lighthouse optic and one of the largest ever constructed, which is now on display in Titanic Quarter in a specialist glass enclosure. One of our next projects will be the Harland & Wolff Steam Cranes that we acquired along with the Drawing Offices in 2012. We are currently exploring a number of options for their future use.

Titanic Foundation also has an interest in promoting and delivering Titanic Quarter as a maritime heritage destination and shared space for all of Belfast and Northern Ireland, and you can read our Titanic Quarter Destination Plan here.

Titanic Foundation is made up of an Executive team and a Board of Trustees. The small executive team comprises Chief Executive, Destination Manager, Finance Officer, Business Support Executive and Communications Assistant. Our eight experienced, non-executive Trustees sit on the board on a voluntary basis.